Skip to content ↓

Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Headlands

We work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • Everyone is different
  • We celebrate our differences
  • We are all equal in our differences

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity.

At Headlands, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.

This page is currently being updated. Further information to follow.